My Five Most Favourite Characters

Okay, I am a month late but we can put all that behind us, can’t we? In my defense, I had my school tests, fasting and my grandfather’s sudden death to cope with and my laziness wasn’t getting too much attention so I had to help that too. Plus I got Portal 2, now who can resist one of the best games ever?

Moving on, I decided to embark on a photography/Photoshop project but I have been able to only make two pictures so far.  I’ll upload them when I have more. In the meanwhile, I give you My 5 Most Favourite Characters. I put a lot of thought into this and tried to avoid all superheroes.

1.The Joker

What sort of despicable person would make a list of his favourite characters and not add The Joker? Not me. I have always loved the Joker. His insane ways, psychotic plans and evilness just does it for me. My respect and awe for the Joker increased when I got my hands on The Killing Joke and The Joker, the comic books. I mean,  just whoa. In films he has been portrayed excellently by the great Jack Nicholson and the late Heath Ledger. Jack Nicholson played and perfected the creepy Joker with a frightening smile on his face. Heath Ledger’s Joker was one which went to great lengths just to prove a point.

2. Sherlock Holmes

I have already expressed my love for Sherlock Holmes in a previous post when I shared the Sherlock Holmes movie sequel trailer. I am still excited about that. Sherlock Holmes is the grand master of  all detectives. His ways of interrogation and deduction are nothing short of brilliant. I also listed the Guy Ritchie movie, Sherlock Holmes, as one of my favourites. Robert Downey Jr. does a great job acting as the erratic Mr. Holmes which makes the movie even better.  I’ve not read all the books but have read some of the short stories. The plots and the observations made by Sherlock are just downright amazing.

3. Severus Snape

I have been a Harry Potter fan for as long as I can remember. I have pretty much all the books and the films memorized (life well spent…). Severus Snape was the Potions Master at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. From day one he seemed to have some personal vendetta against Harry Potter for which the motive is later revealed to be an enmity between him and Harry’s father. My reason for including him is basically his story. (Caution: Spoilers ahead) For long it seems to the readers that Snape is the bad guy but what he did he did for the humanity of wizardkind. This all is revealed to Harry after Snape’s death in the Battle of Hogwarts. The twists and turns along Snape’s path and a romance between him and Harry’s mother make for one interesting person. Besides, I love the infrequent jibes Harry makes at him.

4. Captain Jack Sparrow

Ah, yes. Captain Jack Sparrow! This man has brought to the pirate world what no other pirate could: A bottle of Rum! Jack Sparrow, portrayed brilliantly by Johnny Depp, is a carefree ‘lost in his own world’ pirate who through many ‘misunderstandings’ always ends up being on the wrong side of the ship. Pirates aren’t usually funny but this pirate’s behaviour has led to change the pirate movie genre as we know it. It is just impossible to think of a Pirate and not let your mind be greeted by this face. Eh, Savvy?

5. Indiana Jones

Sallah: Please, what does it always mean, this… this “Junior”?
Professor Henry Jones: That’s his name.
[points to himself]
Professor Henry Jones: Henry Jones…
[points to Indy]
Professor Henry Jones: …Junior.
Indiana Jones: I like “Indiana.”
Professor Henry Jones: We named the *dog* Indiana.
Marcus Brody: May we go home now, please?
Sallah: The dog?
[starts laughing]
Sallah: You are named after the dog? HA HA HA…!
Indiana Jones: I’ve got a lot of fond memories of that dog.

Hehe, love that line. Indiana Jones is a man of many adventures. Many iconic moments have originated from his movies like running from a giant boulder and his famous fear, “Snakes, Why’d it have to be snakes?’. All of his movies have been successes, the latest one perhaps a little less, but nonetheless Harrison Ford has belted out some great movies. Each one with something  better than the preceding one.  True, Harrison Ford is getting older and at 69 (whoa!) he will probably not be interested in returning for another adventure.

These are my five favourite characters but I feel that some I did not add need to be mentioned:

HONORABLE MENTIONS:

– Darth Vader. Man, this guy was just plain awesome. But I did not add him because I have not watched Star Wars enough to add him in the list.

– James Bond. I was more awed with his recent films played by Daniel Craig rather than older ones. Even then, the secret service agent requires some attention.

– Deadpool. I recently got two more of his comics and instantly fell in love with his arrogant ego. As far as proud (yet awesome) idiots go, Deadpool tops the list.

About The Raftsman

I'm 16. I'm gonna be super rich soon. So better start sucking up. Edit: I'm about to turn 18, there's still time for you to start sucking up. Just saying.

8 responses to “My Five Most Favourite Characters

  1. Useful information. Fortunate me I came across your site by chance, and I’m shocked why this twist of fate did not came about earlier! I bookmarked it.

    • haha, thanks! I’m glad you liked it. But you must have noticed its empty look for the past few months, and i blame my AS Level exams for that. But do not worry, for this blog has not been abandoned! Hopefully, I’ll be back in a month and a half! Thanks again 🙂

  2. Very good post. Freezing discovered your weblog – and wished to
    point out that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. Whatever the case Let me be registering to your feed while i we imagine you write again soon!

  3. Enjoyed examining this, very nutrients, regards.

  4. Very nice layout and wonderful content, almost no else we want :
    D.

Leave a Reply

About TheRaftsman

The Raftsman is a Pakistani citizen who thinks too much of himself and likes to refer to himself in the third person. He decided to make a blog after he got an A in English. He enjoys reading and making comics, watching movies, fooling around on Photoshop and After Effects, playing games like a n00b on his Xbox 360 and cricket. He would like to be an actor or a film director as he likes to make films. His allocated name is Abdullah Shahid. This blog is basically what his mind churns out whenever it gets too bored. The WetPuddle will hope to contain his comics, stuff about movies and random blog posts explaining things he likes.

My Tweets!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

